On this website we use technical cookies only and with the sole purpose of offering the best functionality. No third parties are given access to those. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies. Find out more about our cookie poliy and privacy policy.>
Key Visual

Commission 2016-2020

May 2016


The composition of the ICNIRP Commission for the term of office 2016-2020 is as below. The new term of office started right after the End of the IRPA Congress on 9-13 May 2016.

Eric van Rongen (Chair), Netherlands
Maria Feychting (Vice Chair), Sweden
Rodney Croft, Australia
Guglielmo d'Inzeo, Italy
Adele Green, Australia
Akimasa Hirata, Japan
Carmela Marino, Italy
Sharon Miller, USA
Gunnhild Oftedal, Norway
Tsutomu Okuno, Japan
Martin Röösli, Switzerland
Zenon Sienkiewicz, United Kingdom
Soichi Watanabe, Japan

Gunde Ziegelberger (Scientific Secretary), Austria 

Departing members
After three terms of dedicated commitment to ICNIRP Jim Lin, Rüdiger Matthes, Agnette Peralta, Per Söderberg and Bruce Stuck are departing the Commission. Following his professional retirement Kari Jokela also leaves the Commission this same year. He and Bruce have served ICNIRP for almost 20 years through their involvement in the Commission and priorily in Standing Committees III and IV. Special recognition is awarded to Rüdiger Matthes who is appointed Member Emeritus for his sustained and outstanding contributions to ICNIRP as Scientific Secretary, SCIII Chair, Vice Chair and Chair. Rüdiger Matthes always had the best interest of ICNIRP at heart and promoted non-ionizing radiation protection through the objective drafting of statements and guidelines. ICNIRP is very thankful for the hard work and high commitment of its members.

Background information
As per the ICNIRP Statutes, every four year ICNIRP elects the Commission members. For the term of office 2016-2020, the election took place at the ICNIRP Annual General Meeting, 18-20 November 2015, San Antonio, USA. Following the call for nominations extended to the Commission members, the IRPA societies and international and national public radiation protection authorities 24 candidates stood for candidature. The ICNIRP Scientific Secretariat was confirmed.
jump to top